August 08/25/23, 2023
Two helmeted space travelers watch the gigantic forms approach. The sound is an atmospheric instrumental with a beat sensibility. Pretty much all of these tracks have beats, and the tempo is perhaps from a soundtrack for the most odd movie featuring traditional circa 1950s plots with spaceships and astronauts. The overall feeling is not too dense or crowded, with lots of instruments floating atop bass-driven melodic tempos containing some funky textural accents, but still from within the inventive ambient electronic genre, weird soundscapes and the expanding art of atmospheric illusions. Hyperion V (the V is pronounced “five”) is Ben Cox, Thomas Park and Plexus.

Borrowing on vaguely familiar musical tonalities and rhythms, the visionary artists set about creating a rhythmic and melodic immersion of another timeframe yet to be discovered. Employing a variety of electronic sound sources while utilizing a process of generative composition they unlock our imagination through sonic manipulation and propel us into this undiscovered territory.

Thematically, Accretion Disc examines the human need to explore the unknown, our immortal obsession with the many mysteries waiting in the night sky. In this work, Hyperion V (pronounced "five") recall the cosmic yearning of bygone eras touched on by Vangelis, Brian Eno, Holger Czukay and the darkly human introspection of Massive Attack, launching their investigation through twelve conjoined tracks.

The opening track “Astasis” struts along a modular groove punctuated by robotic vocal samples, drum and bass like a rocket propelling the listener through the infinite. Contrarily, “Surface Gravity” evokes the eerie serenity of sunlight on an alien tundra, as chimes glisten and shimmer over a stuttering trip hop beat. The propulsive “Baryogenesis” opens with an odd-time bassline before terse, marching drums and interstellar synth chords make a contrapuntal rhythm. Submerged vocal samples warble in the distant depths, muted across immeasurable vastness. The mesmerizing “Graviton” screeches and bends like an electric guitar’s snarl before exploding into an ecstatic trance beat.

“Accretion Disc takes a nod from the classic days of electronica,” suggests Park, “bringing vintage chill melodies into the present with generative features, glitchy sounds, and state-of-the-art composition and mastering techniques. Bill Laswell and Eno/Byrne’s My Life In The Bush Of Ghosts works come to mind.”

Continuing the thought, Cox adds, “This one is hard to categorize. I’d call this 'controlled chaos with groove' if I had to boil it down. I agree with Thomas’ Byrne/Eno comparison, but maybe with some Orb and KLF mixed in, and a sprinkle of The Art Of Noise on the top.”

As if written in the stars, Accretion Disc is destined to be a popular and lively addition to ambient, electronic, and chillout radio programs and playlists. This unique and gripping interstellar journey moves fluidly between atmospheric soundscapes and propulsive grooves, traversing the space-time continuum, while alluding to the staggering emptiness of space. Fortunately, listeners may now enjoy the adventurous thrill of daring to cross it from the safety of their deep listening spaces.

Spotted Peccary Music will live stream Accretion Disc throughout the day today on its 24/7/365 streaming channel SPMLive.

Ben Cox has two releases on Spotted Peccary Music including Consciousness, and other tricks of the light (2020), and On Water (2005). Thomas Park, aka Mystified has five releases on Spotted Peccary Music including Yenisei Crossing (2020), Morning City (2017), Evolution (2014), Emergence (2013), and Epoch (2012). Accretion Disc is the first Spotted Peccary featuring Plexus.

Mastered by Howard Givens at Spotted Peccary PNW Studios, Accretion Disc is available for streaming and downloading, including high resolution studio master formats. The project's images were created by Jourdan Laik, while the layout and other paintings were designed by Daniel Pipitone, Spotted Peccary Studios NE.

1 Astasis (4:26)
2 Surface Gravity (4:06)
3 Lagrangian Point (4:08)
4 Spectroscopic Binary (4:37)
5 Baryogenesis (5:49)
6 Deep Sky Object (4:44)
7 Oumuamua (4:23)
8 Synchronous Orbit (5:02)
9 Protoplanet (4:38)
10 Graviton (3:15)
11 Flare Star (5:24)
12 Coronal Mass Ejection (6:32)

Music Smartlink:
Spotted Peccary Album Page:
Hyperion V Official Website:
Hyperion V Social Media:

Portland-based Spotted Peccary Music is North America’s finest independent record label with a focus on deep, vast and introspective soundscapes. For over three decades, the artists of Spotted Peccary have been on a mission to develop, produce, publish and release ultra-high-quality, deep-listening experiences that engage the listener and exceed expectations. Every release is carefully prepared in a variety of high-quality formats from MP3 to high-res studio masters. In 2023, they were named Best Independent Record Label by the HIMAwards. Explore more than 200 titles and 50 artists released over 38 years of excellence at