January 01/20/23, 2023
Entering The Axis Mundi, by modular synthesizer composer and visionary artist Bart Hawkins, is inspired by the mystical source or center where all things exist at the same time. The "axis mundi" (also cosmic axis, world axis, world tree, world pillar, columna cerului) is a point described as the center of the world, the connection between earth and heaven, the gateway to Shambhala. Hawkins’ third album for Spotted Peccary Music, Entering The Axis Mundi, picks up where its predecessor Vision of Eden left off, continuing a sonic retelling of a creation myth. This time, instead of the book of Genesis, Hawkins drew inspiration from the concept of axis mundi, meaning “cosmic axis”— the core of existence where time and space are nonlinear and all history convergent. The innovative album releases worldwide on January 20 in a variety of digital formats, and on all streaming platforms.

The tranquil opening track -- “A Joyous Return” -- builds like a cresting wave as elongated chimes ripple around an anchoring modular synth pattern. The thrilling “To Ride a Pterodactyl” features some of Hawkins’ most innovative sound design yet. Here, he feeds the modular synth through a Moog Theremin to conjure the searing screeches of a prehistoric beast.

Throughout the nine tracks of Entering The Axis Mundi, Hawkins further establishes himself as a master of atmospheres extruded from the complex palette of the modular synthesizer. From the wistful adventure of “River Boat to Atlantis” to the galloping tension of “Race to Cosmos Redshift 7 Galaxy,” he is at home in any world he weaves.

Hawkins found the perfect language of this concept in the modular synthesizer; its sounds are innately cyclical, yet in constant motion. He says, “The modular synth itself is an axis mundi, it pulls you in, where out of chaos comes clarity of focus, the center that all revolves around.”

Reflecting on his process, he adds “I do not use any keyboards in my music, everything you hear is created from the modular system. There is an organic intimacy that happens between you and the modular when a keyboard is not hooked up. It is very liberating. And I hope I can capture some of that and pass it to my listeners. It challenges me to think differently about the signal path and how music is created. The more I let go of thinking my way into music, the more the music emerges. This process is transformational and it is no different in life. Listening without your ears and seeing without your eyes will transform your life completely.”

Spotted Peccary will live stream the album throughout the day of release on SPMLive: https://linktr.ee/ambientelectronic.tv and, the first video from the album -- "An Owl Dreams Of Me (Excerpt)" -- is out now on YouTube (https://youtu.be/SZ_opfYXuhw)

Entering The Axis Mundi was produced, composed, performed and mixed by Bart Hawkins. The album was mastered by Howard Givens, with creative design by Daniel Pipitone. It is available in many digital formats including Audiophile, CD Quality Lossless, MP3 downloads, and can be found on most streaming platforms. Hawkins' first release on the Spotted Peccary Music label was 21 Pulse Eclipse (SPM-4301), followed by Vision Of Eden (SPM-4302), and now Entering The Axis Mundi (SPM-4303).

Electronic music composer and modular synthesist Bart Hawkins’ dedication to inner sonic exploration began in the early '80s when his practice of Zen Meditation and love of the Berlin School style of electronic music launched him into a world of musical landscapes, sonic textures, and silence, sparking a spiritual awakening into the power of sound. His time as a professional film & video producer and cinematographer soon led to experiments with tape loops, delays, re-recording techniques, and the mixing of ambient sounds to create visual listening experiences. Now, diving headlong into the world of modular synthesis, Bart’s sonic creations guide listeners through an electric universe of sound, vision, and consciousness.

1 A Joyous Return
2 To Ride A Pterodactyl
3 Race To Cosmos Redshift 7 Galaxy
4 Parisa And Miriam
5 An Owl’s Dream Of Me
6 Entering The Axis Mundi
7 River Boat To Atlantis
8 The Secret Of 33.3
9 Blessed Under Your Feet

Smartlink: https://orcd.co/entering-the-axis-mundi-ps
Website: https://spottedpeccary.com/shop/entering-the-axis-mundi/
Bandcamp: https://bart-hawkins.bandcamp.com/album/entering-the-axis-mundi
Music Video: https://youtu.be/XuUXAhV8Lds

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/spottedpeccary/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SpottedPeccary
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/spottedpeccary/